Managing Message VPNs

Message VPNs group clients connecting to a network of Solace routers, such that messages published within a particular group are only visible to clients that belong to that group.

Default Router Configuration

The initial configuration and functioning of the Solace router with respect to the Message VPN feature is as follows:

  • There is a single Message VPN named default. It cannot be deleted from the router.
    • For Solace appliances, the Message VPN named default is disabled by default (that is, not running).
    • For Solace VMRs, the Message VPN named default is enabled.
  • There is a single client username named default that exists in each Message VPN. It has default attributes assigned to it, and it is assigned to all clients. It cannot be deleted from the router, but an administrator can modify its configuration.
    • For Solace appliances, the client username named default is disabled by default (that is, not running).
    • For Solace VMRs, the client username named default is enabled by default (that is, running).
  • No Message VPN bridges exist.

Tip:  Consequentially, for appliances, no client is allowed to connect to the default router configuration until both the Message VPN named default and client username named default are enabled. A 503 response code is received if they attempt to connect to the Message VPN named default while it is still disabled.