Message VPNs

Message VPNs allow for many separate applications to share a single Solace PubSub+ message broker while still remaining independent and separated. Basically, Message VPNs enable the virtualization of a message broker into many individual virtual message brokers.

Message VPNs allow for the segregation of topic space and messaging space by creating fully separate messaging domains. Message VPNs also group clients connecting to a network of Solace PubSub+ message brokers so that messages published within a particular group are only visible to clients that belong to that group. Each client connection is associated with a single Message VPN.

Default Configuration

The initial configuration of a Solace PubSub+ message broker with respect to the Message VPN feature is as follows:

  • There is a single Message VPN named default. It can't be deleted from the message broker.
    • For Solace PubSub+ appliances: the Message VPN named default is disabled by default.
    • For Solace PubSub+ software message brokers: the Message VPN named default is enabled.
  • There is a single client username named default that exists in each Message VPN. It has default attributes assigned to it, and it's assigned to all clients. It can't be deleted from the message broker, but you can modify its configuration.
    • For Solace PubSub+ appliances: the client username named default is disabled by default.
    • For Solace PubSub+ software message brokers: the client username named default is enabled by default.